Honeyglaze release acclaimed self-titled album today on Speedy Wunderground, announce new live dates

Acclaimed self-titled debut album is out today (29th April) on Speedy Wunderground London headline show at Jazz Café announced for October after selling out The Lexington May headline tour and summer festivals

Speedy Wunderground are excited to release the highly anticipated and critically acclaimed debut album from Honeyglaze, out today (29th April) on all formats. The band have been whipping up a storm on their UK dates with Wet Leg, in preparation for their own headline tour in May, plus numerous festivals this summer inc. The Great Escape, Focus Wales, Green Man. The band also announce a new headline date in October at London's Jazz Café after selling out their May show at The Lexington. (Full dates are below) The South London based, haiku-loving trio formed just before the first lockdown, and a combination of compelling live performances and early singles "Shadows", "Creative Jealousy", "Burglar" and "Female Lead" has seen their profile rise rapidly and garner support from a plethora of early fans including Steve Lamacq, Matt Wilkinson and Wet Leg – who have all declared themselves in love with their intoxicating brand of poetic lyrics and impressive musicianship. Order the album here.

Praise for Honeyglaze: "[A] spectacular debut album" - The Fader "A quintessential coming-of-age debut." - DIY “An enchanting debut…Honeyglaze deserve your rapt attention” – MOJO **** “An understated but highly engaging debut” - Loud & Quiet “It’s easy to see why everyone is falling head-over-heels with the trio” – DORK **** "a sound as tender and sweet as their name implies. Tumbling guitar arpeggios, laid-back rhythms and mercurial vocals are the order of the day.. and they’re an even dreamier prospect live." - NME “The start of something incredibly impressive” - Clash “Honeyglaze make an explosive debut [...] delectable, dreamy soundscapes” - The Line of Best Fit “a danceable hybrid of bedroom pop, lo-fi and 90s grunge” - So Young "Raw, irresistible grooves" - The i Paper

Monday 2nd May – Rough Trade, Nottingham (tickets) Tuesday 3rd May – Jumbo Records, Leeds (tickets) Thursday 5th May - Focus Wales, Wrexham (tickets) Friday 6th May - Road To TGE, Glasgow (tickets) Saturday 7th May – Kazimier Stockroom, Liverpool^ (tickets) Monday 9th May Road To TGE, Dublin, Ireland (tickets) Thursday 12th May - The Great Escape, Brighton (tickets) Friday 13th May - The Great Escape, Brighton (tickets) Sunday 15th May – Kill Yr Idols All-Dayer, Hare & Hounds, Birmingham Wednesday 18th May – Lexington, London^ (tickets) Thursday 19th May – The Loft, Portsmouth^ (tickets) Saturday 21st May – Elsewhere, Margate^ (tickets) Tuesday 24th May – Polar Bear Music Club, Hull^ (tickets) Wednesday 25th May - Hype Park Book Club, Leeds^ (tickets) Thursday 26th May – The Castle, Manchester^ (tickets) Saturday 28th May - Dot to Dot, Bristol (tickets) Sunday 29th May - Dot to Dot, Nottingham (tickets) 2nd - 5th June - How The Light Gets In, Hay-on-Wye (tickets) Saturday 11th June - Long Division Festival, Wakefield (tickets) 29th - 31st July - Y Not Festival, Derbyshire (tickets) Saturday 30th July - Deershed Festival, Topcliffe (tickets) 18th - 21st August - Green Man Festival (tickets) Sunday 28th August - Victorious Festival, Portsmouth (tickets) Saturday 3rd September - Manchester Psych Fest, Manchester (tickets) Thursday 20th October - Jazz Cafe, London^ (tickets) ^ headline show

Honeyglaze are a South London based, haiku-loving trio comprised of vocalist and guitarist Anouska Sokolow, bassist Tim Curtis, and Yuri Shibuichi on drums. Born out of lead songwriter Sokolow’s un-desire to be a solo-act, the group met officially at their first ever rehearsal, just three days ahead of what was to become a near-residency at their favoured ‘The Windmill’, Brixton. Forming a mere five-months ahead of a subsequent five-months of mandatory solitude, Honeyglaze, at first appearance, are a group who play with chance, time, and synergetic fate, in a manner few others are able to do. A thirty-minute YouTube live session recorded in the garage of their close pal Fran for ‘FarmFest 2020’ pricked the ears of seminal producer Dan Carey and his team of meticulous taste-makers Speedy Wunderground (Tiña, Squid, Black Country New Road). A significant step-up from their previous routine of writing, rehearsing and recording in Yuri’s bedroom, in the company of Carey and his team, Honeyglaze were introduced to an entirely new universe - one filled with a ‘Swarmatron’, long-sweaty afternoons in window-less analogue, and total, creative freedom. Much like the eponymously debuted statements of contemporary Folk-singer Bedouine’s ‘Bedouine’, ‘Crosby, Stills and Nash’, or, dare we suggest Madonna’s ‘Madonna’, Honeyglaze the album presents to the world an audibly picturesque documentation of soul-searching, in all its figment’s of reality; a proclamation of cultivated intent which in turn creates a subliminal safe-space between relatability and self-projection, and creative-comradery paired with introspective artistry. A self-described “opposite to a concept album” that sonically encapsulates the who, what, where and how of their individual circumstances coming together as one, Honeyglaze is storytelling at its most soulful, presenting human instinct in a manner that accepts all of the insecurities that come from their present adolescence, whilst acknowledging the formative maturity that’s earned when we allow ourselves to embrace the unknown, of our futures ahead. “If someone is going to find you special – then you want to show what’s most special about yourself,” notes Curtis. “Then you can do what you want from there.” Mixing the personal with romanticised ideals in ways that are simultaneously heart-wrenching and humorous to a dead-pan effect, there is no one trajectory for Honeyglaze, whose greatest ability is finding ways to present what’s written in-between the lines, in moments of beautifully well-versed clarity. Tackling themes varying from jealousy to inadequacy, codependent companionships to the smell of coffee on clothes, as with all good reflections of self, Honeyglaze is a fly on the wall opportunity to get to know three familial strangers in your own way - whilst they too suss out themselves, and the ever-growing circle around them, in the span of 37 minutes. In keeping with their broody-Pop-come-Alt-Indie sentiments, in tracks such as the aptly titled ‘Start’: a solar complex stirring call from the top of Sokolow’s spirit, to the bassy heart-pluck of Curtis, and back over to the rhythmically knobbly-knees of Shibuichi, or, the rollicking jangle of ‘Shadows’, Honeyglaze are able to command total control as the protagonists of their own melancholic manifesto. Debut single ‘Burglar’ is an enamoring masterclass in baring all, without needing to scream to be heard or understood. Beckoning, becoming and utterly bewitching, ‘Burglar’ is the coming-of-age lovechild of Whitney’s ‘Forever Turned Around’, and the stylistically-subdued existentialism of Julia Jacklin, or Oregon’s Haley Heynderickx. As for what remains, be it performing to a rammed crowd at Brecon Beacons’ Green Man Festival back in August, or playing at the iconic 100 Club for Fred Perry’s All Our Tomorrow’s Festival, it’s safe to say that Honeyglaze are well and truly embodying the concept of ‘ones to watch’. To conclude: “Hi we are Honeyglaze, and there’s no time to explain.”

Album Order: https://ffm.to/honeyglaze_album


1. Start

2. Shadows

3. Creative Jealousy

4. I Am Not Your Cushion

5. Female Lead

6. Burglar

7. Half Past

8. Deep Murky Water

9. Young Looking

10. Souvenir

11. Childish Things


Facebook / Twitter / Instagram