Nick Mulvey Releases Track ‘Mecca’ & announces intimate UK record store tour

‘Mecca’ is the new single from Mercury Prize nominated artist Nick Mulvey and the fourth track to be revealed from his stunning third album ‘New Mythology’, which was recorded in Paris with renowned producer Renaud Letang (Manu Chao, Feist, Connan Mockasin) and is set for release by Fiction Records on the 10th June. In support of the release, Mulvey will play three UK dates, which sold out instantly, including London’s KOKO on the same day he releases the highly anticipated new album. He has also announced a run out intimate independent record store shows, available here. ‘Mecca’ is a strikingly tender and intimate re-working of the Wild Beasts original. The song’s lyrics immediately struck a profound chord with Mulvey, as he explains; “I’ve loved this song since I heard the Wild Beasts original. I’ve always thought it under-appreciated, the lyrics to me read like a Rumi or Hafiz poem, devotional Sufi verse at it’s best. I adore the song and am honoured to cover it. Renaud Letang and I had a wild time in the studio making it, going off-piste for me, muting my guitars and letting the synths, drum machines and vocal harmonies take over.” To arrive at ‘New Mythology’, Nick Mulvey has come a long way – both musically and philosophically. A musician, composer and producer, Nick has has amassed a staggering 587 million streams globally, an equivalent of half a million albums sold A founding member of the award-winning British collective Portico Quartet, he left in 2011 to concentrate on his own material. Once solo, he released the Mercury Prize nominated debut album First Mind in 2014, and 2017’s celebrated Wake Up Now. PRE ORDER NEW MYTHOLOGY

NICK MULVEY PLAYS: 7th June - King Tut's, Glasgow 9th June – Gorilla, Manchester 10th June – KOKO, London 12th June – Kingston Pryzm – Banquet Records 13th June – Bristol Fleece – Rough Trade 14th June – Leeds Wardrobe – Crash Records 15th June – Nottingham Metronome – Rough Trade 18th June – Bournemouth Old Fire Station – Vinilo 20th June – Portsmouth Staggeringly Good Brewery – Pie & Vinyl


New Mythology tracklisting

1. A Prayer of My Own

2. Star Nation

3. Mecca

4. Brother To You

5. Shores of Mona

6. The Gift

7. Sea Inside (Third Way)

8. Causes

9. Another Way To Be

10. Mona

11. Interbeing Part 1

12. Begin Again (Love You Just The Same)

13. Star Nation (Acoustic)

Website / YouTube / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook / Spotify /

Apple / TikTok