• Amy

SCALPING team up with Azu Tiwaline for a remix of 'Empty Cascade' EP 'FLOOD REMIXED' out 8th October


Share remix of 'Empty Cascade'

Listen HERE Stream HERE

"FLOOD REMIXED" EP out 8th October (digital) / 12th November (physical - clear vinyl) via Houndstooth

(Photo credit: Jamie Harding & Matthew Sterling of ‘we are jam’ (hi-res here))

Today, SCALPING share a breathtaking remix of ‘Empty Cascade’ by Tunisian producer Azu Tiwaline.

Tiwaline leaves almost no element of the original untouched, creating a blissful and complex percussion driven ecosphere almost unrecognisable from the source material. The remix is part of the forthcoming ‘FLOOD REMIXED’ EP on Houndstooth released 8th October digitally and November 12th (UK) / November 26th (USA) physically.

“When Scalping asked me for a remix, I was really surprised as our music universe is so different but I always loved a challenge.

“In the original track, there is a sort of trance effect which inspired me to start the remix. And, in fact, I made this track in one day. Inspiration was cosmic that day and I love the result so much! Ultra-minimal obsessed trance with only the essentials; Energy and vibes.” - Azu Tiwaline

‘FLOOD REMIXED’ continues the band’s stellar trajectory. Over the past few years they have become an unmissable live act and gained notoriety as one of the essential, electrifying new bands in the UK. Their recent debut EP ‘FLOOD’, their first release for the forward-thinking Houndstooth label, gained widespread acclaim including CRACK Magazine, NME, The Quietus, Loud & Quiet, Mixmag, The Line of Best Fit and many others.

Scottish post-rock icons Mogwai, off the back of scoring their first ever number 1 album with ‘As The Love Continues’ and their first Mercury Prize nomination, step up to remix ‘Cloud Burst’. Stretching and expanding the track, creating new drum patterns, and continually ratcheting up the drama inherent in the original; a naturally sensational slab of post-rock.

Barry Burns of Mogwai said; “I loved reworking Cloudburst due to the sheer mass of lovely little (and big) noises from which I could make new drum sounds and melodies to layer over the original. This was a tune where everything was so nicely overwhelming in the beginning and somehow came together really well with a bit more chaos from my fumbling about with the buttons. Really looking forward to seeing the band live soon.”

Fellow Bristolian, Houndstooth family member and potent production force Hodge opens the EP with a remix of ‘Monolithium’. A hybrid of hefty bass, tribal techno and sophisticated, polyrhythmic drum interplay.

The pre-eminent genius, multi-instrumentalist and composer Laurel Halo supplies a remix of “Deadlock’, a single originally released in 2020. Laurel’s slick addition of a tight 808 groove underneath the bombast subtly tweak the atmosphere, creating a juxtaposition of futuristic club and rock with vintage electro.

Tokyo-born, Beijing-raised, London-based producer and DJ object blue’s remix is a typically high-calibre experimental club cut, which puts the propulsive drum beat front-and-centre underneath an eery whispered vocal. Whereas ‘Empty Cascade’ remixed by the rising producer Azu Tiwaline leaves almost no elements of the original untouched, creating a blissful and complex percussion driven ecosphere almost unrecognisable from the source material.

On the collaboration, object blue says: "I wanted to hear what the track would sound like if it was dunked into water."

Aphex Twin favourites, AQXDM, the collaboration of Aquarian and Deapmash, deliver a raucous, rambunctious flip of the single ‘Deadlock’. Packed full of blown-out breaks, maximalist bass shots, icy synths and cascading trance fragments; perfectly excavating the elemental rave substance at the core of SCALPING’s music. SCALPING is the Bristol based group comprised of James Rushforth, Alex Hill, Isaac Jones, Jamie Thomas and visual collaborator Jason Baker, initially formed at the end of 2017 with a desire to pair their hometown's visionary, off-kilter dance music to the more organic instrumentation you might find in noise-rock and post-punk. They have since won all manner of plaudits at radio, press and through fervent word-of-mouth for both their eclecticism on record and for the pummelling intensity of their live performances and high-profile fans including Giant Swan, DJ October, Bruce and many more. Pre-order EP FLOOD REMIXED | Purchase FLOOD EP

Full upcoming tour dates are as follows:

Sat 23 Oct 21 – Boiler Shop, Newcastle, UK*

25 Oct 21 - Invisible Wind Factory, Liverpool, UK*

26 Oct 21 - Brudenell Social Club, Leeds, UK*

27 Oct 21 - Concorde2, Brighton, UK*

28 Oct 21 – Metronome, Nottingham, UK*

29 Oct 21 – Roundhouse, London, UK*

25 Nov 21 - 'The Horrors Present, Metal Rain', The Marble Factory, Bristol, UK

*w/ Squarepusher

Tickets are available HERE

(Artwork (hi-res here))

EP FLOOD REMIXED out 8th October Pre-order HERE

Tracklist: 1. Monolithium (Hodge Remix) 2. Deadlock (Laurel Halo Remix) 3. The Perimeter (object blue Remix) 4. Empty Cascade (Azu Tiwaline Remix) 5. Deadlock (AQXDM Remix) 6. Cloudburst (Mogwai Remix)