• Amy

Sea Power share video for “Two Fingers”, UK headline tour dates on sale now, new album Feb 11th 2022

Sea Power share video for “Two Fingers”

UK headline tour dates on sale now

New album Everything Was Forever due for release on 11 Feb 2022

(Sea Power | Photo credit: Hollywood | Download hi-res here)

Sea Power are today sharing the video for their latest single “Two Fingers”. Announced last month - and now A-listed on BBC 6 Music - “Two Fingers” is the lead single from forthcoming album Everything Was Forever, set for release on 11 February 2022.

Pre-order the album Everything Was Forever here.

Upon release, co-frontman Jan Scott Wilkinson said: “The song is part inspired by our late dad. He was always giving a two-fingered salute to people on the telly – a kind of old-fashioned drinking term, toasting people or events: ‘I’ll drink two fingers to that’, to some news item or to memories of a childhood friend. In the song it’s a toast to everyone, remembering those in our lives and those sadly no longer here and to making the world a better place. The song is ‘F*** me, f*** you, f*** everything.’ But it’s also ‘Love me, love you, love everything’ – exultation in the darkness. If you say ‘f*** you’ in the right way, it really can be cathartic, a new start.”

Jan Scott Wilkinson also directed and edited the single’s accompanying video, which he describes as an “ambiguous and open-minded exploration of footage from around the world. Both celebratory and fearful. A collage of moving images striving to overcome a narrative free emptiness.”

Watch the video for "Two Fingers” below.

Sea Power have also shared a run of headline UK tour dates. Tickets can be purchased here. Full details below. April 2022 Tuesday 12 – 1865, Southampton Wednesday 13 – O2 Institute 2, Birmingham Thursday 14 – Roundhouse, London Tuesday 19 – O2 Academy, Bristol Thursday 21 – Leadmill, Sheffield Friday 22 – St Lukes, Glasgow Saturday 23 – Albert Hall, Manchester

(Sea Power UK headline tour poster | Download image here)

(Sea Power "Two Fingers" single artwork | Download hi-res here)

More about new single "Two Fingers" Sea Power retain clear potency in 2021. Certainly, there are facets that make the “Two Fingers” single timely. “It’s maybe interesting,” says Jan, “that the song mentions nightmare monsters from the world of HP Lovecraft. This song has been around a little while, partly because of the big interruption of Covid. Between the song being written and the album being finished, the TV series Lovecraft Country was broadcast – which took the supernatural Lovecraft and ran it alongside 1950s America and Lovecraft’s racism. He was a terrible racist, a white supremacist, which is why his world is there in the song, like anti-matter – something full of horror and mankind at its worst. But, alongside the negative forces in the song, there’s also a strong hopeful intent, a desire to start anew. Beyond that, the track has influences that are just inspiring – David Lynch, Cold War Steve, the Sex Pistols, Joe Meek’s Telstar, the beauty of isolated landscapes.” As the lyrics go: “Two fingers for the dead / Two fingers for the living / Two fingers for the world that we all live in”. Two fingers as dismissal. Two fingers as defiance. Because, reverse those f***-you fingers and they become a gesture of hope and redemption. Here is rock music made by people who know what it is to originate on one side of the tracks but also to have been given a chance. Sea Power’s two singers, brothers Jan and Hamilton, are emphatically products of Britain’s post-war welfare state and social housing. Their childhoods were a time of full grants – education free of financial equations. A time of free school dinners, a world where brave young footballers didn’t need to lobby for adequate nutrition for children. With Two Fingers, Sea Power damn the bad and say a prayer for the good. Can rock music lift the mood, can rock music make things better? Maybe it can. Let’s travel in hope. And if you aren’t up for that, then, well, two fingers to you, too. Pre-order Everything Was Forever here.

(Sea Power - Everything Was Forever album artwork | Download hi-res here)

Everything Was Forever track listing: 1. Scaring At The Sky 2. Transmitter 3. Two Fingers 4. Fire Escape In The Sea 5. Doppelgänger 6. Fear Eats The Soul 7. Folly 8. Green Goddess 9. Lakeland Echo 10. We Only Want To Make You Happy Sea Power are: Jan Scott Wilkinson – vocals / guitars Neil Hamilton Wilkinson – vocals / guitars Martin Noble – guitars Matthew Wood – drums Abi Fry – viola Phil Sumner – keyboards / cornet Sea Power: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram