Sea Power UK tour begins today

New album Everything Was Forever out now

Sea Power are back on tour in the UK today, following the release of their UK Top 5 album Everything Was Forever.

Hear the album in full here and see the band live at the following venues.

April 2022

Tuesday 12 – 1865, Southampton

Wednesday 13 – O2 Institute 2, Birmingham

Thursday 14 – Roundhouse, London

Tuesday 19 – O2 Academy, Bristol

Thursday 21 – Leadmill, Sheffield

Friday 22 – St Lukes, Glasgow

Saturday 23 – Albert Hall, Manchester


Praise for new album Everything Was Forever

Songs reliably surge with pop power - The Arts Desk

Honed, punchy, and finessed… the group at their most insurgent and unifying – Clash on new single Green Goddess

A new refreshed Sea Power with a creative mindset is firing on all cylinders – DIY

A band to celebrate – Dork

One of their best works… dynamic, grandiose anthems - The Evening Standard ****

Emphatic – Guardian Saturday Magazine

Sea Power drop “British” from name but remain as reassuringly angsty as ever - Hot Press

A defiant, ecstasy-rock lead single – The i Paper on lead single Two Fingers

Their eight album will win the battle for you heart and mind – Irish Mail On Sunday *****

A surreal radio-friendly meditation to swim within – Loud & Quiet ****

Experts in blending scrawling riffs across expansive landscapes - Louder Than War Album Of The Week

Songs drift dreamily on oceans of calm or storm – The Daily Mirror

An exhilarating listen – Mojo

A group working at the height of their considerable powers - Music OMH 9/10

The album is a sophisticated, expansive piece of future-rock – NME

The new Sea Power album may be their best in a decade - The Quietus Album Of The Week

This is Sea Power at their imperial best – Record Collector ****

A softly anthemic indie rocker – Rolling Stone on new single Green Goddess

Dense and dramatic music – Scottish Daily Express ****

Best enjoyed with a beer and a sticky venue – Stylist on new single Green Goddess

A dreamy, introspective affair… there is a feeling this maturing band have only just begun – The Sun

Propulsive, defiant and bittersweet – Sunday Times on Two Fingers

A blazing comeback – Uncut ****

The six-piece enters its third decade as a band with a truncated name, but what hasn’t changed, as Sea Power sails into a new chapter, is its indomitable creative spirit – Under The Radar ****

More about Sea Power's new album Everything Was Forever

Putting change and growth on the agenda, Everything Was Forever’s announcement was accompanied by news that the band would be dropping the word “British” from their name. The ensuing international news headlines couldn’t drown out the power of the band’s first new music, however. Through the troubled-times anthemia of lead single “Two Fingers”, the bubbling electronica on follow-up “Folly”, and the rousing “Green Goddess” – each of which was playlisted by BBC 6 Music – Sea Power opened up a brand-new era for themselves, while holding onto all that has made them such a beloved fixture of UK music.

In an explanatory article in The Guardian, the band wrote of their fascination for the elemental force of the sea and of their long-standing enthusiasm for the sea as a source of sustainable energy: “Removing the word ‘British’ does NOT indicate any aversion to the British Isles whatsoever. We all feel immensely fortunate to have grown up in these islands. We love these lands – the physical beauty, our diversity, our people, our culture and much of our history. But now we are just Sea Power – staring out at the wonderful waves, a pastime this island nation understands more than most.”

The title for the Everything Was Forever album was inspired by Alexei Yurchak’s 2006 book Everything Was Forever, Until It Was No More: The Last Soviet Generation, a compelling overview of Russia as Glasnost and Perestroika ushered in amazing changes. For Sea Powe, the phrase Everything Was Forever suggests both sonorous fatalism and an admonitory clarion call – act now regarding our planet or soon reach a state where action is impossible. The album is perhaps the band’s most diverse, ranging from the meditative prettiness of Scaring At The Sky and Fire Escape In The Sea to the galvanising clarion call of Two Fingers, a track that has already sounded out powerfully from radio sets around the world. The album’s subject matter moves from fury and wonder at the whole wide world to a spectral memoir from a Lakeland childhood.

Everything Was Forever track listing:

1. Scaring At The Sky

2. Transmitter

3. Two Fingers

4. Fire Escape In The Sea

5. Doppelgänger

6. Fear Eats The Soul

7. Folly

8. Green Goddess

9. Lakeland Echo

10. We Only Want To Make You Happy

Sea Power are:

Jan Scott Wilkinson – vocals / guitars

Neil Hamilton Wilkinson – vocals / guitars

Martin Noble – guitars

Matthew Wood – drums

Abi Fry – viola

Phil Sumner – keyboards / cornet

Sea Power: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram