• Amy

Thyla announce debut album and share lead single “Gum”

Self-titled debut album is released on Jan 28th 2022 via Easy Life Records London headline show also announced

(Thyla | Photo credit: Phoebe Fox | Download image here)

Today, Brighton trio Thyla are announcing their long-awaiting debut album. Self-titled, it will be released via Easy Life Records on Jan 28th, 2022. The band are also sharing the record’s lead single “Gum” which was given its premiere by Jack Saunders on BBC Radio 1 last night, who said: "They are sounding so confident, so strong - they feel like one of the best bands about for me at the moment. If Gum is anything to go by [the debut album] is going to be a huge statement piece to watch out for." Thyla will also headline The Waiting Room, London, on 16th Feb 2022. Tickets are available here. Thyla are a band that have regularly found their creative impulse heightened by a sense of heaviness and burden. Their music focusses on a journey that seems to be getting harder rather than easier, often highlighting struggles with how we attach identity and value to ourselves, and the sneaking feeling that the more we learn, the less we know. In new single “Gum” there is a real feeling of the band willing themselves forward. In what is in fact the album’s opening lyric, singer Millie Duthie offers “I’ve been thinking about growing myself new skin”. It is a line that simultaneously seems to suggest that as that journey gets harder, their skin gets thicker, as well as a metaphor for finding freedom in shedding the negativity that can lurk beneath the surface of us all. “Gum” is a powerful opening statement that casts aside unconstructiveness and reels in positive engagement. She expands below: "Gum is about shrugging the weight of the world off your shoulders - being stuck, knowing it, and choosing not to care. The world is weird; life is confusing. You're not always going to get what you want, but let's stop talking about it.” Pre-order the album here. Listen to “Gum” on DSPs here and watch the video below.

More about Thyla and their self-titled debut album Gleaning inspiration from everyday human experience – and blurring the lines of the personal and the fictional – Thyla play as voyeurs and interpreters. Their music is a playground for the shared experience, a place for art that doesn’t preach, or claim to have all of the answers. Instead, their work exists as signposts to emotional moments in time, channeling the chaos of modernity into a sanctuary built from balance and nuance, influenced by the disparate worlds of everything from Kate Bush to My Bloody Valentine’s Kevin Shields. On their debut album the band makes natural a step onward from their earlier EPs, working in a way that removed outside influence. In the same way that their process allowed them to make their own decisions, the resulting album is also about allowing others space to reach their own conclusions. It asks questions, rather than demands answers, and often zeroes in on the world’s polarized state, knowing when confrontation or walking away is the answer. It is also an album of internal monologues made real, punctuated with regular references to the Lewis Carroll tale Alice In Wonderland. Praise for Thyla "You need to get back on this band and understand how good they are." - Jack Saunders, BBC Radio 1, Next Wave / Track of The Week Further BBC Radio 1 support from Huw Stephens and Phil Taggart BBC 6 Music support from Lauren Laverne and Steve Lamacq Further radio support from Radio X, Amazing Radio, KEXP, KCRW.

"Widescreen pop" - Brooklyn Vegan "Really great" - Dork Featured in The Independent’s Now Hear This playlist "A viable threat to inherit the UK’s indie crown" - The Line of Best Fit Featured in NME’s New Bangers playlist Featured in NPR's New Music Friday playlist

"Positively sublime" - Paste “Brighton’s grungy dream-pop heroes...” - Pitchfork "Post-grunge grittiness and fantastical, soaring pop” - Stereogum “A potent concoction of dream pop and grunge” - Upset

(Thyla - Thyla album artwork | Download image here)

Thyla - Thyla album tracklisting:

1. Amber Waits

2. Breathe

3. 3

4. Flush

5. Gum

6. Echo For Ingrid

7. Kin

8. Imbude [Interlude]

9. Making My Way Through The Skyline

10. Dandelion

11. Rabbit Hole

Thyla: Millie Duthie (vocals) | Dan Hole (bass) | Danny Southwell (drums)

Thyla: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Spotify